an image of four teen students standing in a hallway talking with the words Student Interest Group Program next to it

The American College of Medical Genetics and Genomics Student Interest Group Program is designed to help medical, graduate and genetic counseling students expand their knowledge and interest in the field of medical genetics. Membership in the ACMG Student Interest Group Program provides groups access to unique educational resources, opportunities for networking, and information about careers in medical genetics.

ACMG Student Interest Group Handbook
Apply to Be an ACMG Student Member
Find a Geneticist in Your Area

What is an ACMG Student Interest Group (SIG)?

The American College of Medical Genetics and Genomics (ACMG) Student Interest Group Program is designed to help medical, graduate and genetic counseling students expand their knowledge and interest in the field of medical genetics. Involvement in the ACMG SIG Program provides groups access to unique educational resources, opportunities for networking, and information about careers in medical genetics.


Why should my institution start an ACMG Student Interest Group (SIG)?

  • Join a growing network of SIGs and medical genetics professionals to help promote awareness of the field of medical genetics and genomics!
  • Receive recognition from a national organization (ACMG) that may help secure group status and activity funding from your institution.
  • Access to speaker resources
  • Free access to Student level genetics and career pathway education.
  • Options for free ACMG Students which provide additional ACMG Members Only resources (including online access to Genetics in Medicine, salary and benefits data, and ACMG communications on innovation and issues in the medical genetics and genomics field)

How can I establish an ACMG SIG at my institution?

  • Identify an SIG Advisor (must be a employee of your institution)
  • Identify group leaders (group officers) and select a group contact person
  • Complete the ACMG Student Interest Group Program Application
  • Submit the completed application to: American College of Medical Genetics and Genomics (ACMG) Membership Services by mail, fax or email:
    7101 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1101 Bethesda, MD 20814
    Fax: 301-718-9604
    Email: membership@acmg.net
  • Have your group members apply for individual Student membership to receive additional ACMG benefits
  • Use the ACMG SIG Handbook and Faculty Guidelines to organize your group’s operations
  • Start planning events and networking with SIGs nationwide!

Student Interest Groups

Interest Groups

ACMG Student Interest Group - Albert Einstein College of Med

Susan D. Klugman, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
susanklugmanmd@gmail.com
ACMG Student Interest Group - Albert Einstein College of Med

ACMG Student Interest Group - Arizona State University

Miles Orchinik Faculty Advisor
m.orchinik@asu.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Arizona State University

ACMG Student Interest Group - Augusta University at Univ GA

Christie Taylor President
ctaylor9@augusta.edu
Andrew K. Sobering, PhD Faculty Advisor
andrew.sobering@uga.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Augusta University at Univ GA

ACMG Student Interest Group - Baylor College of Medicine

Brady Slater President
baslater@bcm.edu
Chaya N. Murali, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
murali@bcm.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Baylor College of Medicine

ACMG Student Interest Group - Boston Univ School of Medicine

Silvia Gunderson President
slg176@bu.edu
Shoumita Dasgupta, PhD Faculty Advisor
dasgupta@bu.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Boston Univ School of Medicine

ACMG Student Interest Group - Cincinnati College of Medicine

Lauren Alvey President
alveyle@mail.uc.edu
Robert J. Hopkin, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
rob.hopkin@cchmc.org
ACMG Student Interest Group - Cincinnati College of Medicine

ACMG Student Interest Group - Cleveland Clinic Lerner

Jeffrey Shu, MMSc, MS President
jls442@case.edu
Xiangling Wang, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
wangx8@ccf.org
ACMG Student Interest Group - Cleveland Clinic Lerner

ACMG Student Interest Group - David Geffen SOM (UCLA)

Wayne W. Grody, MD, PhD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
wgrody@mednet.ucla.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - David Geffen SOM (UCLA)

ACMG Student Interest Group - Des Moines University

ACMG Student Interest Group - Des Moines University

ACMG Student Interest Group - Donald & Barb Zucker Sch. of

Georgia Linaris President
David H. Tegay, DO, FACMG Faculty Advisor
dtegay@gmail.com
ACMG Student Interest Group - Donald & Barb Zucker Sch. of

ACMG Student Interest Group - Emory University

Emilie Chenda Ung President
ecuniverse2000@gmail.com
Hong Li, MBBS, PhD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
Hong.li@emory.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Emory University

ACMG Student Interest Group - Florida International Univ.

Gianna Arrizurieta President
garri018@med.fiu.edu
Tracey Weiler, PhD, MS Faculty Advisor
tweiler@fiu.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Florida International Univ.

ACMG Student Interest Group - Frank H. Netter School of Med

Miriam Schoenfeld DiMaio Faculty Advisor
miriam.dimaio54@gmail.com
ACMG Student Interest Group - Frank H. Netter School of Med

ACMG Student Interest Group - Geisinger Commonwealth SOM

Michael F. Murray, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
michael.murray@yale.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Geisinger Commonwealth SOM

ACMG Student Interest Group - George Washington University

Charles J. Macri, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
cjmacri@protonmail.com
ACMG Student Interest Group - George Washington University

ACMG Student Interest Group - Harvard Medical School

Mariah Everett, MD President
mariah_everett@hms.harvard.edu
Farrah Rajabi, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
farrah.rajabi@gmail.com
Stephanie Sacharow, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
stephaniesacharowmd@gmail.com
ACMG Student Interest Group - Harvard Medical School

ACMG Student Interest Group - Hudson Alpha Inst. for Biotech

Carter Alexan Wright President
cwright@hudsonalpha.org
Devin Absher, PhD Faculty Advisor
dabsher@hudsonalpha.org
ACMG Student Interest Group - Hudson Alpha Inst. for Biotech

ACMG Student Interest Group - Johns Hopkins University

Christine Gao President
Joann Bodurtha, MD, MPH, FACMG Faculty Advisor
jbodurt1@jh.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Johns Hopkins University

ACMG Student Interest Group - Kansas Medical Center

Debra L. Collins, MGC Faculty Advisor
dcollins@kumc.edu
Eric T. Rush, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
etrush@cmh.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Kansas Medical Center

ACMG Student Interest Group - Lewis Katz SOM (Temple Univ.)

Jack McClamrock President
jack.mcclamrock@temple.edu
Glenn S. Gerhard, MD Faculty Advisor
gsgerhard@temple.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Lewis Katz SOM (Temple Univ.)

ACMG Student Interest Group - McGovern Medical School (UT)

Jacquelyn McCullough President
Jacquelyn.R.McCullough@uth.tmc.edu
Paul Hillman, MD, PhD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
paul.hillman@uth.tmc.edu
Hope Northrup, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
hope.northrup@uth.tmc.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - McGovern Medical School (UT)

ACMG Student Interest Group - MSU College of Human Medicine

Lane Savage, MD President
savagela@msu.edu
Helga V. Toriello, PhD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
toriello@msu.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - MSU College of Human Medicine

ACMG Student Interest Group - Ohio State University

Wesley N. Schwind President
wesley.schwind@osumc.edu
Kandamurugu Manickam, MD, MPH, FACMG Faculty Advisor
murugu.manickam@nationwidechildrens.org
ACMG Student Interest Group - Ohio State University

ACMG Student Interest Group - Penn State University

Ema Karakoleva President
ekarakoleva@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
Patricia L. Gordon, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
patriciagordon1@comcast.net
ACMG Student Interest Group - Penn State University

ACMG Student Interest Group - St. Georges University

Giavanna Verdi President
giavannaverdi@outlook.com
Mary C. Maj, PhD Faculty Advisor
mmaj@sgu.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - St. Georges University

ACMG Student Interest Group - Tufts University

Staci Kallish, DO, FACMG Faculty Advisor
staci.kallish@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Tufts University

ACMG Student Interest Group - Tulane University

Rachel Greenberg President
rgreenberg@tulane.edu
Karen A. Weissbecker, PhD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
kremer@tulane.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Tulane University

ACMG Student Interest Group - UCF College of Medicine

Francesco Enrico Sautto President
francesco.sautto@knights.ucf.edu
Jane Gibson, PhD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
jane.gibson@ucf.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - UCF College of Medicine

ACMG Student Interest Group - UCSF

Joseph T. Shieh, MD, PhD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
shiehj2@humgen.ucsf.edu
Katherine Hyland, PhD Faculty Advisor
katherine.hyland@ucsf.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - UCSF

ACMG Student Interest Group - Univ. of Alabama Birmingham

Jacob Greenway President
jwgreenw@uab.edu
Ali S. Al-Beshri, MBBS, FACMG Faculty Advisor
ali.albeshri@gmail.com
Nathaniel H. Robin, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
nrobin@uabmc.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Univ. of Alabama Birmingham

ACMG Student Interest Group - Univ. of Maryland

Miriam G. Blitzer, PhD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
mblitzer@peds.umaryland.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Univ. of Maryland

ACMG Student Interest Group - Univ. of North Carolina

James P. Evans, MD, PhD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
jpevans@med.unc.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Univ. of North Carolina

ACMG Student Interest Group - Univ. of Oklahoma

John J. Mulvihill, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
john-mulvihill@ouhsc.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Univ. of Oklahoma

ACMG Student Interest Group - University of Iowa

Alex Annabelle Marti President
alex-marti@uiowa.edu
John A. Bernat, MD, PhD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
john-bernat@uiowa.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - University of Iowa

ACMG Student Interest Group - University of Miami

Daniel Schwartzbaum President
d.schwartzbaum@med.miami.edu
Deborah S. Barbouth, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
dbarbouth@med.miami.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - University of Miami

ACMG Student Interest Group - USC Greenville

Eliza Huey President
ehuey@email.sc.edu
Robert G. Best, PhD, MS, FACMG Faculty Advisor
rbest@acmg.net
ACMG Student Interest Group - USC Greenville

ACMG Student Interest Group - USF College of Medicine

Judith D. Ranells, MD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
juranell@usf.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - USF College of Medicine

ACMG Student Interest Group - UT Health Science Center

Vicki M. Park, PhD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
vpark@uthsc.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - UT Health Science Center

ACMG Student Interest Group - Washington University School

Elizabeth Cordell President
ACMG Student Interest Group - Washington University School

ACMG Student Interest Group - Wayne State Univ. Med School

Gerald Feldman, MD, PhD, FACMG Faculty Advisor
gfeldman@med.wayne.edu
ACMG Student Interest Group - Wayne State Univ. Med School